8 December 2019

Scout volunteers from throughout Ingleborough District were delighted to gather at The Knight’s Table, Little Stainforth, for a bumper presentation ceremony to celebrate the amazing work of 16 praise worthy and loyal recipients of national awards.

The proceedings began with Tom Haigh being awarded his Wood Badge having completed and validated twenty modules as part of his leadership training. Gemma Tyrie then received her 5-year service certificate and badge. Similar awards were then presented to Carl Unsworth and John Allan for service of 10 years and to Dick Chalmers for service of 20 years.

Earlier this year, several enthusiastic Ingleborough leaders and administrators had been nominated for Scout Association national awards. After the reading of glowing citations, the presentations began with Gemma Tyrie receiving a Commissioners Commendation, a local award given in recognition of her dedication and enthusiasm. Chief Scout’s Commendations for Good Service were then presented to Carl Unsworth, Gill and John Allan, Cathy Tazzyman, Jackie Rowe, Katrina Unsworth and Jane Nelson. Carole Ogilvie, Gill Pinkerton and Jenny Wood were also proud recipients of the Commendation but were unable to be attend.

The Award for Merit, given for outstanding service, were then presented to Dick Chalmers, Cherry Flitcroft and Dan Nelson. Anne Cox and Mike Fitzsimmons also received this award but were unable to be present at the ceremony.

The presentations concluded with the three District Commissioners speaking about the role of a volunteer and thanking everyone for their active involvement and commitment which has helped to make Scouting so successful in Ingleborough District.

Finally, Carl Unsworth, who is stepping down as a District Commissioner, was thanked for his unstinting hours of support and given a leaving present. A buffet and audio-visual presentation of Scouting photos from the last decade concluded the evening, which was thoroughly enjoyed by all.

What a fantastic achievement for all concerned – the whole District is super proud of its dedicated and loyal supporters and are delighted that they have been recognised in this way.